Conference Announcements

CULS-2019

CONCORDIA UNIVERSITY LAW AND SOCIETY SYMPOSIUM

Mon, 06 May 2019 – Tue, 07 May 2019

Family and Justice in the Archives will bring together historians, legal scholars, and others for a discussion about the challenges and opportunities offered by the use of legal records for exploring the intimate worlds of family life. The intimacies that interest us were located initially in the private spaces of lineage, estate, family, household, and bedroom; they are both dramatic and quotidian, material and emotional, and invariably tied up in gendered and generational hierarchies of power and privilege. At the same time, they are made accessible – years, generations, or centuries later – through the written traces left by public proceedings that occurred in legally sanctioned spaces of social regulation, from the notary’s office to the criminal or civil courtroom to the legislative arena. We are especially interested in the ways in which historians and other scholars have been unpacking the stories of intimacy revealed in processes of legal regulation to develop rich new insights about family, gender, sex, power, culture, identity, and daily life throughout history and across the planet.


Concordia University

1455 Boulevard de Maisonneuve O, QC H3G 1M8
Montréal, Montréal
Canada

Related Conferences

114th ASA Annual Meeting:"Engaging Social Justice for a Better World
TBA, New York, United States
Sat, 10 Aug 2019

21st Commonwealth Law Conference
TBA, Livingstone, Zambia
Sun, 14 Apr 2019

Fifth African Health Economics and Policy Association Scientific Conference
TBA, Accra, Ghana
Mon, 11 Mar 2019

Pushing Regions beyond their Borders
University de Santiago de Compostela, A Coruña, Spain
Wed, 05 Jun 2019

2019 TRI-HISTORY CONFERENCE
University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada
Tue, 18 Jun 2019

Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences 56th Annual Meeting
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront Hotel, Baltimore, United States
Tue, 26 Mar 2019

2019 Midyear Conference
Little Rock Marriott, Little Rock, United States
Sun, 10 Feb 2019

75th National Conference of the National Association for College Admission Counseling
Kentucky International Convention Center, Louisville, United States
Thu, 26 Sep 2019

76th National Conference of the National Association for College Admission Counseling
Minneapolis Convention Center, Minneapolis, United States
Thu, 24 Sep 2020

American Association of Geographers Annual Meeting
Marriott Wardman Park, Washington, United States
Wed, 03 Apr 2019

American Association of Geographers Annual Meeting
TBA, Denver, United States
Wed, 01 Apr 2020

2019 Commercial Property Conference
Calvin L. Rampton Salt Palace Convention Center, Liverpool , United Kingdom
Tue, 30 Apr 2019